About Us

Hawaii ACEP is the local chapter of national ACEP, the American College of Emergency Physicians. Founded in 1971, the chapter actively represents more than 100 of Hawaii’s emergency physicians, residents and medical students working at hospitals throughout the Hawaiian Islands.

The island state of Hawaii brings unique challenges to emergency physicians, and the chapter’s Board of Directors meets every other month to discuss and address those challenges, welcoming member input in the process.

Chapter Officers 
President: Paul J. Eakin, MD, FACEP
President-Elect: Mark Baker, MD, FACEP
Secretary/Treasurer: Paul Eakin, MD, FACEP
Immediate Past President: William Scruggs, MD, FACEP

Board of Directors
Grace S. Chen, MD 
Jason Fleming, MD, FACEP
Ann Malia Haleakala, MD, FACEP 
Richard McDowell, MD, FACEP 
Takashi Nakamura, MD
Grace Curry Packard, MD
Loren Yamamoto, MD, FACEP